TUG Board of Directors meeting

Dedham 13-14 July, 1991

Kees van der Laan

The following are loosely formulated issues which were agreed upon. For more preciseness the reader is referred to the (approved) minutes.

1 Mission statement

The TFX Users Group provides leadership

- to encourage and expand the use of TeX, Metafont and related systems
- to ensure the integrity and portability of T_EX, ME-TAFONT, and related systems
- to foster innovation in high-quality electronic document preparation.

2 Reciprocal membership

Long awaited (since Paris 89 on my agenda) and finally adopted. The agreement has to be detailed and worked out with Ron. (Operational!)

3 TUG a member

A T-shirt can be earned when TUGging a member. Notify the office of the member(s) you gained.

4 Misrepresentations of T_EX.

A person who points out some possible misrepresentations of TeX for the first time earns \$16,-.

5 Openness BoD meetings

Face-to-face board meetings are open for members. Similarly, face-to-face executive committee meetings are open to BoD members.

6 Copyrighting

TUG does not hold copyrights. The copyright remains with the author(s). TUG will seek for an appropriate form of the new general public license.

7 Interim executives

Malcolm Clark is next year's interim president. Other interim officers are: Christina Thiele (vice-president

and secretary), Allen Dyer (treasurer).

8 Board structure

The new BoD will consist of 6 special vice presidents (the current 5 and the newly invited Japanese delegate), 15 elected members and the elected president. Board elections will take place in odd-numbered years for a two-year term. Presidental elections (by the full membership) will take place in even-numbered years for a two-year term. Vice-president, secretary and treasurer to be board members, will be selected by the board for a one-year term. Business is conducted by face-to-face meetings as well as via e-mail.

9 IATEX 3 project

A fund for the LATeX 3 project will be raised. Results of the project are envisioned for mid 1993.

10 Future of T_EX

No consensus about the future of TeX exists.

11 Committees

Most committees are active and plan to report in the near future. The (real) D_EK scholarship committee was nominated and the operational procedures were adopted. Members of the committee are: Chris Rowley (chair), David Salomon, Nico Poppelier, and the last winner Linda Williams.

12 Next annual meeting/conference

It is planned at Portland, Oregon, T_EX in context, July 27 to 30, 1992. Program coordinator is Mimi Lafrenz.

13 Budget

Of course budget issues and the 'office' were discussed as well. Again a deficit, and the office will shrink. Ron Whitney has the status of Technical director/business manager.